June 8th, 2011

Polaroid

happy release day

Originally posted by agent_j_jackson at happy release day

http://arcaedia.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/happy-release-day-61/

http://arcaedia.wordpress.com/?p=4959

Today is the release date for the paperback edition of Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal!


Exactly what we could expect from Jane Austen if she had been a fantasy writer… An intimate portrait of a woman, Jane, and her quest for love in a world where the manipulation of glamour is considered essential for a lady of quality.


“Readers will be disappointed only when they finish this enchanting story, which is suffused with genteel charm. The author’s judicious and effective changes to aspects of daily life clearly communicate how similar but different this world is from ours. With the grace of _Sense and Sensibility_, a touch of classic fairy tale magic, and an action-packed ending, this debut novel by an award-winning short story writer will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susannah Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde.” –Library Journal



Tagged: books!

  • Current Mood
    excited excited
  • Tags
PWNED

In Which We Mock Writer's Block (& #ROW80)

Or, Adventures In Distracting The Infernal Editor


I don’t know about you, but my writer’s block has a name. I call it the Infernal Editor, mainly because if I’m stuck at a road block and can’t see where I need to go it’s because he’s snatched the next bit of story and run off with it, laughing evilly. Or because he’s blocked my view like a big hiney in front of a TV.  Because, yanno, he is one.  Every writer has that internal voice screaming “No, go that way!” or switching the road signs in the direction of an unexpected cliff. Even as I type this, he’s bouncing up and down, going “What did you write THAT for? That’s not helpful or witty or in any way good. Hey, is that a Starbucks?”

See how he tried to lure me off track like that? The Infernal Editor is indeed a worthy foe—crafty, malicious, and determined to make us doubt ourselves and our talent. Sometimes he even appears in the guise of logic or Writer’s Little Helper. A tricksy trickster, that one.

Fortunately, there’s more than one way to skin a Cheshire Cat.

Chain Of Events

This is where I grab a notebook and pen and run off somewhere the Infernal Editor can’t find me. Then, beginning at my last key scene or plot point, I summarize the action in short lines of action, image, or dialogue up to the point where I got stuck.  It's important to do this by memory.  If I’ve gone wrong anywhere or missed something this is where I usually find it. Don’t sweat mechanics or grammar or anything remotely technical—this is about discovery, and the point is to get rid of the little bastard, not encourage him.   He’s usually so stricken by the lack of punctuation (not to mention coherency) he can’t form words.

Spinning Down The Page

By the time I reach the road block a solution usually crops up, and I can continue alternating action-image-dialogue in any order that comes natural.  Writing hot, breathing deep, leaving the Infernal Editor shaking his fists impotently in my rearview mirror, all the way until the next key scene or plot point, destination in clear view.

Getting It Down

Time to put it all into the computer. Using my notebook, I can now put it all into actual words. By now my brain is so into the groove things I never initially considered pop up like jack-in-the-boxes, waving their little hands, going “Pick me, pick ME!” This is where I come up with some of my best writing, because my brain is warmed up and purring nicely. And I go with it, because the Infernal Editor is still panting to catch up. And then it’s my turn to chortle an evil little laugh. Bwa-ha-ha-haaaa.

An evil laugh can be good for the writer’s soul, as long as it’s your own.

ROW80 Check-In

In other news (or maybe not-so-news), it appears I can't count.  I think I lost a week somewhere.  I blame it on proximity to the Bermuda Triangle (hey, it worked for the XFiles, didn't it?).  Anyway, I'm not going to be able to finish Act I before the end of this round.  But that's okay.  Life (and other things) happen.  As soon as I do finish Act I, and if I don't have my edit letter for Brighid's Cross yet, I'm going to rescue an old novella from trunk exile and make a valiant attempt at repurposing it for Intrepid Editor (not to be confused with the Infernal Editor, who is not lovely and patient and kind).  I've found that alternating projects like this keeps me fresh.

What I have accomplished was a scene sequence connecting my Opening Scene to my Inciting Incident.  Sounds impressive, I know, but what it boils down to is I've got Chapter 1 and three of four plot threads started, as well as FK's First Encounter with the Minstrel.  Now I'm plugging away at connection the Inciting Incident to Plot Point 1 and FK's First Encounter with the Imperial Assassin (and the final plot thread).

So. Time to cheer on our fellow ROW-ers, here.  Good luck to everyone this week!